2003-05-05

I know a professional athlete. He's a golfer and he's a year older than me. We went to junior high and high school together. We had algebra and chem together. We're on a nickname basis, which is closer than first name, but not as close as spending the night at each others houses and eating waffles in the morning while we watch cartoons in our pajamas.

We had a great email relationship up until about 6 months ago. It was because we both had stupid jobs. We'd shoot email at each other that reflected our shared level of boredom - some of the best email you'd ever want to read. Not literary, but it was insightful and made us laugh. Anyway, he quit his job, moved back in with his parents and became a pro golfer.

Like any other sport, there's a number of lower levels before one gets to the golf incarnation of The Show. I'm not talking about the Hooters Tour or the Nationwide Tour. Golf that will never end up on a television screen unless there's a shooting, case of SARS or a terrorist plot. The tournament prizes are like $200 and the tournaments last only one round.

There was no point in telling you that. I was just thinking about him today.

The weekday business section of New York Times (and basically every newspaper) is very very mediocre - the content is almost like Mad Libs/fill-in-the-blank stuff. Stocks go (up/down). (Business name) will lay off (round number). But the weekend (specifically, Sunday) business section of the New York Times is wonderful. Stories about the cutthroat yogurt industry. These features stories ('feeches' as I call them when I'm trying to make someone mad or am just feeling 'it') are so much more interesting and entertaining than transcriptions of the blow-by-blow reporting CNBC does (I still love you, Maria Bartiromo - you are why I get up at 4am).

We have these 3 cherry trees (same sound at the start "cherry" and "tree" - kind of strange) in our front yard and they are flowering right now, which is pretty, but my truck is covered with whitish-pinkishness. If I had a place to drive it, it might be a different story, since it would all blow off. But my lack of shit to do or resources with which to do shit is being mocked by trees.

In French, beef = boeuf. Why so many vowels to get a long "e" sound? What a stupid language. Writers are probably paid by the vowel.

An interview today - a phoner. I'll tell you, I have never been so tired for one of these mothers in my life. I was still really nervous, so I was able to do a crossword puzzle in about 10 minutes. I think it went well - the interview and the crossword - and it's a job I'd really like. In the meantime, I'll sleep and emotionlessly apply for more jobs. Maybe cook something fun today. I want to wrap my relatively unused arms around some rissotto soon. That sounds so fucking good right now.

And I really wouldn't mind seeing 5th graders commit a crime against theater if you came along. Even musical theater.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com