2003-05-15

I think I've seen 2 movies on their opening day and I only really planned on seeing one on its opening day (A Mighty Wind - thanks, unemployment!). I like movies a lot, but unless it's a film festival and there's only going to be a very limited number of screenings, movies shouldn't really be seen as events. Hegemonic hype really pisses me off. Particularly for movies that aren't really special in any way other than their bloated marketing, special effects and/or casting budget.

The last time I was involved in a car accident was near the end of my junior year of high school (those months were probably the most Dawson's Creek-like months I've had). That was a major accident and I wasn't driving - but it was an interesting experience nonetheless. Anyway, a guy hit me yesterday and since the damage is really pretty negligible, I'll probably just keep the money and treat this as a shitty way to win a $700 or $800. At least for now. Read the next paragraph.

I've been having hypothetical debates in my head about an offer I anticipate. And it's begun raising all of these lingering insecurities about what I actually want to do in the future. Then I think about which situations would really let me get rid of my truck.

A confusing spam subject line was this: "Survey: Dunkin Donuts vs Krispy Kreme" As I understand, the subject lines should entice you to open the email, right? This subject line made me think and I decided that I do not care. Perhaps my indifference is in the minority of reactions - most normal people have an overwhelming passion when confronted with two donut choices and they are compelled to voice their opinion to whomever may listen. But I dobut donuts are really a hot button issue. Try country ham/city ham or overhand/underhand toilet paper roll orientations.

Today's interview didn't go especially well. I was, as they say, owned. I've found it quite difficult to let many technical things slip past Ph.Ds. And this interview was doomed before it started. When the recruiter called to schedule it, I was sleeping and it probably sounded like I was drunk. Let's put this madness behind us and focus on something more pleasant.

I live above the door to our backyard. I also keep my window open a lot (love cold sheets). Every single morning my dad will open the back door, whistle, call one of the cats' names, whistle, etc. (it's to tell the cat he has prepared their breakfast). The problem: it's a cat. It doesn't know its name. Even if it did, it doesn't really care. This calling of the cat drives me nuts. It makes my dad look about 20% more insane than he actually is.

Screw this. I'm going back to bed.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com