2003-06-09

The 5 dimensional cube.

While filling out the myriad of forms associated with the Job, the internal HR is the one that has had the most lasting effect. It was a prefilled box read "Billing Level" with a code by it.

This idea bothered me for a while - that I'm billed to clients at a pretty expensive rate. The part that entails me not seeing much of the expensive rate isn't especially troubling, it's the expensive rate part itself. It implies something. It implies a number of things about responsibility, expertise and professionalism.

I've been assured that it's basically the normal anxieties of a young consultant - questioning worth and ability.

The other thing is the change in the people I'm around. In major classes - even as a freshman - I could doze off in my chair under the smug (but usually correct) assertion that I'm the smartest person staring back at the professor. In the auxiliary courses, I might not have been the most gifted at the subject, but there were always others with greater intellectual failings. Now I'm working under/with people who I know are so much smarter and more talented than me. It's infintely humbling, but also exciting. People pay so much for the advice and expertise of these people and I get to work around them every single day. It must be how the people who work at Krispy Kreme feel.

In other news, my 20 year old cousin used her wedding cash to get a boob job and she's now working in Las Vegas' adult-oriented entertainment industry. We're so proud of her. I'd like to believe things would be different if she hadn't gone to that repressive, Catholic women's college. Maybe if she had gone to a more "liberated" environment like a Big 10 school that was more welcoming of her social inclinations.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com