2003-08-02

1. There was a meeting. Let's just say I impressed with some very Top Quality Office Banter. You realize, of course, the key to getting on decent projects is (in part) this very same Top Quality Office Banter. The importance of developing Top Quality Office Banter cannot be understated. The publichood of Top Quality Office Banter is a factor, too. If it's engaging one person in an office - that's fine, it's like a sniper rifle - but Top Quality Office Banter in a meeting setting is like some kind of small bomb or a team of ninjas that kills an entire village during the night.

2. But truthfully, there's something truthful about that. The Youth don't have much say in what they are staffed on so you have to appear to produce nice product, be smart/funny/flexible, and all of that other stuff that goes along with being a Good Consultant/Team Player/All Around Nice Guy.

3. A programming language whose only syntax is white space. No letters, numbers or punctuation. Just spaces, tabs and newlines.

4. On the Food Network they said that 3 deciliters is about 1.5 cups. It's actually almost exactly 1.25 cups. (3 deciliters is actually 1.268 cups and 1.25 cups is 2.96 deciliters and 1.5 cups is 3.55 deciliters) Their fact checkers must've been sleeping.

5. I went grocery shopping: eggs, beer, chocolate milk, cheese, bread (perfectly square! I have no particular use for something perfectly square, but this was so pervertedly perfect that I said "I MUST HAVE YOU!").

6. I found out (in a rather odd conversation with one of the bigger bosses) that my immediate manager on my current projects is a season ticket holder. This bothered me that I didn't know sooner. But he'll be out of town a few times before October. WISH ME LUCK!

7. I love walking down the street and seeing letters nailed to the wall that say "V I N Y L" and the letters made out of carpet.

8. For dinner I was debating between pho and fish tacos. I decided on fish tacos and walked to the place where I remembered the fish taco place being. It had turned into a Vietnamese restaurant. So I had pho. "That's kind of like the Seinfeldian 'even Steven.' What if it had turned into a place that only sells heroin?" I would not have had heroin.

9. One my way back from grocery shopping trip (#5 above), I saw a 2 youngish (24-25ish) couples walking to the baseball game (using my High Level Deductive Reasoning skills, I noticed A) one baseball hat and B) one baseball jersey) and while waiting at a crosswalk one of the females was contorted in such a way that she looked like she was checking her boyfriend for hernias. While I'm sure she wasn't checking for hernias, I was sorry I had to see that.

10. Tuesday. First dentist appointment in almost 2 years. After his spirit of rugged individualism is crushed by The System and Dental Insurance, Our Hero now becomes Our Tragic Hero.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com