2003-08-22

I know that I too recently said something to effect of "I don't like digital cameras" and "recursiveness is for the weak" but I didn't mean it! I look out my window this afternoon and the stadium's jumbotron has an image of the interior of the stadium. I wish I had a digital camera.

Mamas, don't let your babies grow up to be consultants.
Really. In general, unless you are a consultant, there's little chance you'll actually understand what your child does. I'm serious. When my mom or dad asks what kind of work I'm doing and I tell them the projects and what my role is in The Big Picture, they don't get it. And while it could be my poor storytelling skills, it's basically the same for most people. Not many people outside of consulting really get consulting or what "solutions" are (isn't solving problems that what a lot of people do? Firemen solve your fire problems. Doctors solve your bleeding or vomiting problems. Sommeliers solve your wine-related restaurant problems. Bakers solve your baked goods problems. Mathematicians solve your math problems. Fishmongers solve your fish problems. Wedding planners solve your wedding problems. And consultants solve your business problems.)

.

I heard someone say or read someone's writing that after you leave school, there are no more cool people and not-cool people. There's just happy people and sad people. I don't really think many things outside of binary are actually binary. There's a sliding scale of happiness and sadness - free muffin happiness is slightly less than actual-in-the-mailbox mail from a real person which is slightly less than waitress gets saucy with you happiness.

That's all for now. Thanks billions.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com