2003-11-02

Not to destroy the atmosphere with heaviness, but very few people know that numbers 1 through 6 are the exact same for me. I don't like to talk about it.

New knuckles tattoo idea: VOTE/WHIG

There was a time I went through a space age bachelor pad music phase. I realized today that this phase is not over.

I was reading a business-y article about Friendster and I have said this before, but it might bear repeating: I DO NOT GET FRIENDSTER. The premise is "We're friends and now we're friends on a website", right? Right there. I just don't get that. I get it's technical aspects and everything, but I'm so confused by people's fondness for it. Also, I don't want to be anyone's friendster.

On business-y crap, Barra is a finance nerd's wet dream and consequently I have a soft spot for its stock and I'll champion them when someone asks me about what companies I like because I'm completely interested in what they do. But the truth is, it's priced about what it should be (the modest 25 PER and 3.25 $/Bkv are slightly below industry averages [which generally = latent value], but the 14% RoE and quartery revenue growth is kind regular and earnings per share growth is positive, but not strong). I'm done talking about that.

There's 11 people on an email list that are all male and everyone is the same age (22-23). A breakdown of everyone's relationship status: Single. Girlfriended. Girlfriended. Single. Married. Engaged. Girlfriended. Priest/married to the church. Engaged. Engaged. Engaged. Me (single). And yeah, this makes me feel even more like an outsider and a weirdo, but I think when us weird guys start talking about "them" bringing wives and fiances and girlfriends to a makeout party, it's just a little bit funnier. Which is to say that it was funny to begin with, which might not be true.

Here's my friend's Amazon DVD recommendations (in order), but first know that he bought LA Story (Steve Martin), Grosse Point Blank (John Cusack) and National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation (Chevy Chase) on DVD a few weeks ago: 1. Planes, Trains and Automobiles. 2. National Lampoon's Vacation 3. High Fidelity 4. Vegas Vacation 5. Gross Anatomy (the one with Matthew Modine, you know?) 6. A Christmas Story (the one with the kid that kind of looks like me) 7. National Lampoon's European Vacation 8. Roxanne 9. A Walk on the Moon 10. Say Anything.

That makes recommendation algorithms seem very un-complex. Or perhaps he's just un-complex. Mine are a little better - Shop on Main Street, Fireman's Ball, Loves of a Blonde [I like this movie a lot], The Killers [Lee Marvin! Swoon!], The Office, Family Guy, Futurama, Cranes are Flying, Night and Fog, Band of Outsiders and... Just Married? How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days? Something's amiss.

Even better than last year. Yay college!

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com