2003-12-10

STOCKHOLM SYNDROME

Work's sort of going "OKAY" in the sense that my boss said to me, "Firm profitability has nothing to do with how much client work you have" which is saying "Don't feel bad for taking excessively long lunches and spending most of the day staring out the window thinking about scenes from The Simpsons and becoming startled when you see someone's reflection in the window (often your own) because you only see window washers outside your window.

MAL DE DEBARQUEMENT

Going to DC, I think.

Also, my airline employed friend offered me a ticket that I'd have to use by the end of the year, so I think I'll take a Saturday and fly somewhere, explore the airport and possibly a local donut or fast food shop, then fly back.

There's not a good reason why you are stuck in traffic.

SALMONELLA

WHAT TO DO WITH LEFTOVER RISOTTO: RISOTTO CAKES

You need: leftover risotto. An egg. Some bread crumbs (miscellaneous freezer bread is good for this purpose). Possibly interesting things - like crab or something else. And spicy or aromatic things - crab boil seasoning or Tabasco or hot peppers or thyme or something that you understand and feel comfortable around.

Mix the leftover risotto, from the fridge, with the egg and interesting things and spicy things. If it's too thin, mix with bread crumbs until you believe it can hold its shape. Roll them into balls, coat with bread crumbs. Refrigerate for an hour or more.

Preheat oven to 375. Get a pan nice and hot with some oil. A few balls at a time, brown them on each side and finish cooking in the oven for 5-6 minutes. Add a remoulade or aioli or something of that nature.

---

And this pullman loaf pan makes PERFECTLY SQUARE SLICES OF BREAD and would be a good present for anyone interested in square food. Also, I've started making normal, white sandwich bread. It tastes a lot like the kind my grandma made, which makes me wonder of there's an tiny old Scandinavian woman locked inside of me.

AUTOPHOBIA

And, if you watch this sort of thing, someone I know-ish will be on Leno on tonight or Thursday, I forget what he told me, doing one of those "look at me" things that makes him look like an asshole. He's not that way in real life and I feel bad that he has to live in Los Angeles, which is full of people who like famous people, like him.

SEASONAL AFFECTIVE DISORDER

Skyscraper decoration reviews:

Smith Tower. Though one of my favorite buildings, this is the only one with a flocking on a tree. I didn't bother to look any longer.

1001 4th Ave Plaza. Small tree in a large atrium feels empty. There's a piano. Everything is blue and white. Spiky things that look like jacks (representing stars?) are on small topiary things, too.

Washington Mutual Tower. The theme? Gold. Also some bronze. Trees have presents underneath. The presents are wrapped in gold. The trees are pretty nice looking.

Key Tower. It's sort of the same as WaMu, but it's lobby always feels smaller so you start breathing faster and it's somewhat Escher-esque in places. I don't like this building so much.

Laird Norton. I was across the street, but it has 2 trees with white lights. I had an interview here once and I think I thought the bathrooms were crap.

Fifth Avenue Plaza. A spiky thing, a tree, a steakhouse.

Eddie Guardado's name is not actually Eduardo Guardado. It's just Edward.

A pair of studies - longtidunal and cross-sectional - that analyzes the use of emoticons as a measure of public sentiment. It could be a single indicator - the National Emotional Proxy Index - but it would be composed of multiple parts, like "Sixteen year old girls are using the tongue-sticking out emoticon 5% more than last month, 3% over the same month last year, which could indicate an rising tide in boy craziness. However, sad face emoticon use among the same group is also up sharply, though early indications suggest it could be related to the late Thanksgiving holiday. Sunglasses emoticon use is up among young males, which indicates that they think more of themselves, though there's no good reason, since they are still a bunch of losers."

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com