2004-04-03

I think my parents are going to move. This bothers me because A) moving is expensive and B) this particular move is unnecessary since the new house would be bigger than the one the live in now, yet would house 2 fewer people than lived in the current one. It also bothers me because THEY HAVEN'T TOLD ME. They let my brother know that they put in in an offer on a house, which he relayed to me. I'm busy, but I've still spoken to them 3 or 4 times since I heard this from my brother. Maybe I'm being cut out of the loop. Maybe they don't want me to know where they are moving. Maybe I'm being kicked out of the family. No family. No place to go for the holidays. Who do I put as the beneficiaries in case of my death? The start of my autobiography: "Call me Lobo."

Client made a somewhat snide remark about my age the other day. I don't know what to think about it - frustrating and flattering, I guess, that he noticed that everyone else is old enough to be my parent, but I come off as worldly, intelligent and genuinely concerned with their problems.

While travelling, ate at this pretty nice restaurant in a quirky smallish city. Fine food, but I was almost shocked by the level of urgency in the waitstaff. It was bizarre. Everything felt important. Dining in the Big City sometimes has a feeling of casual indifference, which I guess I've gotten used to, but this was completely different.

On calendarism, through a conversation with my mom:

[Gist of her voicemail: Would you like to drive to see your brother on Easter? We plan on leaving Saturday, then having brunch and driving back on Sunday.]

Me: That's fine, but right now I'm booked on the last flight into Seattle on Friday.

Mom: We can pick you up at the airport.

Me: All right. I think my flight gets in at 10:00 or so. I'll check and let you know.

Mom: Okay. Just pack an extra 2 days worth of clothes before you leave.

Me: But tomorrow is Friday. I'm already here. I only packed for this trip - my suitcase is mostly binders and computer crap.

Mom: Next week, honey. Easter is next week.

On intellect, through fragments of conversations with my boss:

Boss: Geez, we are smart. [N.B. Whatever sense of modesty one had when one joined a consulting firm gets lost pretty soon]

Me: Yes, very smart.

[15 minutes later, my lifelong struggle with distinguishing right and left rears its ugly head, for which fun is made of me]

[2 days later, as we're leaving a client site]

Boss: The client thinks you're a genius. Don't screw this up.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com