2004-09-15

1. I saw someone's receipt for a business trip they are taking toward the end of October and I thought, "That's like 6 weeks away! Why on earth would you schedule a trip that far in advance?" I stopped and realized that my 3 days max notice trips are actually the weird kind - most people know when and where they are travelling.

2. Finally got a good trip, though. Two days in a nice city with some high falutin' financiers, featuring the kind of plush amenities and personal excesses that sometimes earns a "SHAME ON YOU!" investigative report.

And this has nothing to do with anything, but work can really seem like karaoke sometimes.

3. To give some idea of how lame and out of touch I am with people I know, on my way to the airport I actually called my mother and said, "Who do I know in City?" Because apparently I can't remember where any of my friends actually live. Which made me realize 1) how crappy it must be to be one of my few friends and 2) how much better my business life is than my personal/social life and I think it would be much, much better if I had someone who could schedule my time and tell me where to go. Not like a wife, closer to an assistant, but more like someone to mother and broker my social and personal interests, ideally participating in the activities to give them some rational self-interest in them not sucking. It would be a Life Agent or Dog Handler or something like that.

That's it. This entry was awful. I apologize.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com