2006-03-12

A good pen name (please email me if you are using, so I can cross it off my list): Rax Condor!

I can't decide if this is an example of Jung's collective unconscious, or it's just some type of equilibrium-seeking behavior that has grown over time, but I would guess that 70% of the males who attend the large meeting that is held every Monday wear royal blue shirts. Another 10% or so wear light blue. A blue man group, of sorts. There's really not much I can do with this, since mocking it by wearing a blue shirt would go unnoticed unless I made it clear that I know of the preponderance of blue shirts (sending out a memo?).

Grossest thing I accidentally ate: sweet cheese. Some monterey jack was grated onto a cutting board that had apparently been used to cut up bell peppers and various kinds of fruit and I ate it on purpose, but I probably wouldn't have if I knew how gross it would taste.

Nascent myspace.com trend that I find gross: couples celebrating their relationship in one page. These are, quite obviously, put together by the girl. Every question is responded to with a "we" or "our", which sounds like a corporation answered it. They take a great deal of pride in their relationship, but there's something lurking in the shadows that they don't acknowledge at all - a 50some percent chance they'll get divorced. When they get divorced, does this profile just shrivel up and die? I think it does.

The other sort of incarnation of this is the customized license plate frames that have like a date and then two names. I may have mentioned this before, but really - what says 'forever' better than black plastic screwed to your Honda Accord? The thought process that goes into buying and then attaching one of these things is so bizarre. Standing around a mall kiosk, sucking down an Orange Julius and pounding a Cinnabon into your colon, wondering how to honor an eternal commitment to your soulmate... a T-shirt or a license plate frame?

Speaking of romance, how I had hoped an IM conversation with the girl I've had a mild crush on for 6 or so years would go (background: she currently lives in Chicago):
Me: I have a conference at Northwestern in July!
Her: When you come we can sit around a diner discussing our mutual attraction to each other all day and then make out all night!
Me: Hooray!

How it actually went (not paraphrased):
Her: yeah, i'll probably be around. do you still work at wherever you work?
Me: yes.

Did you just write a baseball steroid scandal book? Do you need a title?!?!

Consider the following 2 titles:
"Juiced : Wild Times, Rampant 'Roids, Smash Hits, and How Baseball Got Big"
"Game of Shadows : Barry Bonds, BALCO, and the Steroids Scandal that Rocked Professional Sports"

As you can see, the correct way to title a baseball steroid scandal book is "Title : List of 3 things". Here are some titles you can choose from:

"Steroidball : Bright Lights, Big Cities, and My Ass Full of Steroids"

"Steroids in Baseball : Baseballs, Wooden Bats and also Steroids"

"I Was A Professional Baseball Player Who Did Steroids, As Well : Urine Tests, Syringes (full of steroids), and Some The Poor Financial Choices That Led Me to Write This Book"

Non-steroid book about baseball:
"Some Annoying George Will-Type Essays About Baseball : Baseball as American Religion, Taking Baseball Metaphors Way Too Far, and How 'Field of Dreams' Sent An Entire Generation of People Completely Off the Deep End When It Comes to Talking About Baseball"

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com