2009-01-04

I saw a map where about half of the streets had the same name. They were going in all different directions, too. They were intersecting with each other and stuff. It didn't make any sense at all. It bothered me a lot.

In the past few weeks I have had some ups* and some serious downs. I'm trying to get past the downs, but it is going to take a long time.

* - A part of me wishes I were going to a school that wasn't just a graduate school, particularly one with an American college football team, because of how bad my undergraduate alma mater's football team has been since I left. I guess I can get worked up about rowing or something.

My sister's boyfriend can be a bit macho for me - he has a weird relationship with violence, which I don't like, and sometimes his enthusiasm for cars seems to be coming from the same place as his affection for my sister. He is still into the whole "potency myth" - the most, the fastest, etc - the quantifiable is what matters. I grew out of that a while ago. You can only really go 80 or 90 mph without reliably getting a ticket and nobody is hauling 3 tons worth of gravel everywhere they go. Style does matter. I'm biased, as I am related to the Studebakers, but my 2 of my favorite cars just on their shape and style are the Studebaker Golden Hawk (the 56s more than the 57s - the tailfins got a bit extreme) and the 1955 Speedster (this one is nice). Today's cars should be less depressing looking.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com