2009-07-16

Tomorrow I am going to try something I have always wanted to do: conduct an afternoon's worth of conference calls from a movie theater. I'll probably do it in the lobby or the bathroom, where I have a semblance of a table to write on.

A story about where you are from. There's a fluidity to the degree I embrace the stereotype about where I am from. Like there's a guy at work who graduated from a high school that was down the road from me, and we'll often readily embrace the historical stereotype of Our People (bored and not-quite-white trash with little ambition or opportunity who drink beer while sitting on tailgates in gravel pits). If someone is local, but not from my hometown, then I'll try to defy it. If they are from the midwest or east coast, the stereotype has more to do with a particular lifestyle - outdoorsy but soft, something with fish and coffee, laid back and unpretentious but passive aggressive, lots of fleece - and I find it difficult to deflect it, because it is kind of shapeless.

They'll name a city after us

Petro-states buying up African farmland. Can't be good.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com