2009-10-19

I was going through my phone and noticed that I tend to reserve the "camera" feature for documenting cooking trials for later analysis. Here is a short exegesis of a series of four pizzas, that were cooked early on in a pizza-making kick. These were made in late February or early March. Between February and June or July, I would guess that I cooked about 70 pizzas - around 5 a week for a good 3 months.

By way of background, my preference is for crisp crusts that don't flop over when I pick them up. The rim should be airy and not real chewy. There should be a full, beery flavor - most of these doughs were aged for 48 to 72 hours. All of them used a similar dough formulation - about 65% saturation (quite wet).

Pizza the First


This one wasn't bad, but it wasn't that good. I cooked it on parchment, on a stone - this is me being lazy, it makes transfer to the oven a lot easier, as well as cleanup. However, the "upskirt" photo shows the problem with this method - the parchment tends to trap a lot of steam (particularly because it is a wetter dough), giving the bottom a 'swiss cheese' like appearance. The result of the trapped moisture is that the dough doesn't have much snap.

Pizza 2

A little better. Still using parchment. I normally parbake crusts, which allows them to get a little crispier. Here I had worked out most of the timing issues associated with it - this had the right color and snap.

Pizza III


Here I was obviously using parchment and sliced tomato, rather than sauce. This was a good one, but I felt the crust was under-done. You can see I did not par-bake this one, which was the source of that issue. My thought at the time was that by using (fairly dry) tomatoes, the crust wouldn't get soggy like it would if I used a liquid sauce. It was an okay effort. There is also banana bread in the background of the second picture, which makes me hungry for banana bread.

Pizza IV


This is much, much closer to what I think pizza ought to be. A nice bready crust and a super crisp, slightly blistered bottom. By this point, I had stopped using parchment and become more comfortable using just semolina/corn meal - it made a huge difference in the end product.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com