2009-11-19

My ups and downs have been a lot more pronounced lately. Right now, I am in a Down. I'd really rather be somewhere else. I hate everything about my program, my classmates, my school and this goddamn city.

On that note, I have only watched American TV shows since I got here. The best shows currently on TV that I am watching: Glee (most of the time), Modern Family, 30 Rock, Community, Parks & Recreation, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

The Office is not in the list. In about season 2 or 3, you notice that they start having problems writing the show. They run out of ideas for them to do things in the office... So they go outside the office. For a while, almost every episode was a field trip. Then they just started introducing new characters and turned it into a "wacky dad" cartoon type of show. They missed the point of a show being set in an office. The point is that almost nothing happens - people go to work and keep their mouth shut about things because they have to keep their job. Its profundity is in its banality. There is tension beneath the surface, but it is almost never outwardly expressed.

Augmented Thomas Kinkade paintings

-----------
BLAKROC, featuring:
The Black Keys.
Mos Def.
RZA.
Jim Jones.
Nikki Wray.
Billy Danze.
Raekwon.
Pharoae Monch.
Q-Tip.
Noe.

BLACKROCK featuring:
Larry Fink.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com