2010-04-15

A few weeks ago I was contemplating hummus and realized that my favorite hummuses have a smooth, creamy texture that is similar to crappy guacamole (good guacamole is chunkier) so I had the idea to make fake guacamole using a hummus as a platform. I've made this 4 or 5 times and I think it is one of my more successful creations.

Basically, you just toss a bunch of stuff into your food processor/Cuisinart and let it run for a long time. Longer than you think it needs to run.
-Chickpeas/garbanzo beans (1 can, drained and rinsed)
-Cilantro (a lot - this is what gives it a decent color)
-Lime juice
-Jalapeno
-Garlic
-Salt, pepper
-Red onion
-etc

I hate cumin, so I leave that out. Blend it for a long time and it will come together, knocking it back into the bowl once in a while. Eventually, you will probably need to add a little bit oil or liquid to make it creamier. Light olive oil is fine, but I tried an avocado today and it worked really well. So that's Lebanese-Tex-Mex fusion. It also winds up costing about $1 to make, so it is cheap and reasonably convincing. My dad hates chickpeas and he thought it was normal guacamole.

Serve with tortilla chips. Make them fresh - just slice small corn tortillas into triangles and pan fry them. So much better than store bought.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com