2010-05-17

I got a C in one of my classes - the class that I missed because of the volcano. I think the last C I got was in junior high metal shop.

Since I am done with my school stuff, I don't have much to do and I've spent a good deal of time watching some recent TV shows that I never got into (Friday Night Lights). And baseball. Including minor league baseball. I'm watching a minor league game right now, which is interesting for reasons that have nothing to do with baseball:
-It is a very early game, 10am local time, intended as a field trip day for schools.
-The shot tends to stay with a pretty low-angle camera position, which gives you a view of a group of seats and walkway.
-For the most part, they seem pretty unaware of the camera - I don't think the in-stadium big screen is very good.
-You see groups of kids walking around. The younger kids in a semi-official buddy system, the older kids in a self-imposed buddy system.
-With the older ones, it is not difficult to tell who is more popular.
-Boys sitting next to boys, girls sitting next to girls.
-You'll see girls stare at a boy, then quickly look away, feigning interest in the baseball game. This is the funniest thing to me.
-Boys sitting behind girls, touching the girls heads. The girls getting upset.
-You can see boys chasing girls when they get up and walk around, like on the hetero-normative playground. Love triangles are starting to become apparent.
-This is the end of the school year - relationships and roles have already been defined. Nothing
-I am really glad I am not in high school.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com