2010-07-09

Here's a tip: if something you are reading begins with "apparently" or "it seems", then the knowledge and expertise contained in whatever follows is very close to zero.

NFB - the FIFA for countries that are not in/recognized by FIFA, including Tibet, Iraqi Kurdistan, Chechnya, Western Sahara, the offshore micronation of Sealand, and formerly Monaco.

Recently I have fallen into a schedule that I've been enjoying. This is how it goes:
-wake up, usually somewhat surprised, because the phone is ringing. Today it was an interview that I had scheduled for 3 hours later.
-go through a little bit of Google Reader. The stats section says I read 900 items a day, which I am slightly ashamed of.
-cook something. Yesterday I decided to make some home-made pop-tarts, and I left the dough in the fridge to finish today. While rolling the dough out I realized that if you put if I put it in a pan, it is a pie. A pop-tart is a 2 dimensional pie.
-I also made some tacos ("onion insanity carne asada tacos" - corn and onions cooked with the meat, topped with onions (fresh, green and pickled*), radishes, and some other garnishes. Probably the best tacos I've ever made.
-walk the dog, if it isn't 95 degrees outside
-get the mail
-weeding the garden
-watch a movie
-correspondence/email
-crossword puzzles: NYT, LAT, Houston Chronicle, and the weekly ones - WSJ, AV Club
-play with infrared thermometer
-get work done at night, usually incredibly late, sometimes until 4am or 5am

Next week is jury duty. I'm going to miss this.

* - Onions, sliced thin, pickled in white vinegar with the leftover parts of some stuff I was working with - cilantro stems, the other parts of green onions, and discarded lime husks. It's a favorite sandwich topper.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com