2003-03-24

Everyone - included the least talented amateur comics - has asked, "What am I supposed to do differently on an orange terror alert day verus a yellow or red terror alert day?" I don't know. The broad, sweeping answer is probably, "Be more vigilant." But here is what Terror Alert High means to me:

It means that I bathe my hands in Clorox bleach before and after I eat, go the bathroom, shake hands with anyone, touch a doorknob, put on clothes or go outside.

It means I cry myself to sleep each night, wondering if the poison fog I've imagined is going to leave my stuffed animals fatherless.

It means I hide my DVD collection.

It means I imagine making babies with more of the women I see in bookstores and coffeshops, because - hey, you never know.

It means I switch long distance companies at every available opportunity, because I want the phone companies and telemarketers to think kindly of me when I'm gone. Maybe one of them will eulogize me.

It means I commit petty theft and speed in school zones.

It means I take my performance art more seriously.

It means I've acted upon my wondering what the delicious liquids my mom hides under the sink would taste like.

It means I squeeze in a few hours a week to draw circles with my freshly Cloroxed fingers around the faces of girls from high school whom I never confessed my love to.

It means I haven't washed my truck in a few weeks.

It means I sleep 14 and watch 8 hours of television a day.

It means I sing the lyrics to "Desperado" when I am exiting supermarkets, 7-Elevens and restaurants.

It means I haven't had my hair cut in 11 weeks. And that I refer to this as "the plague." As in, "the plague is in its eleventh week."

It means my fatalistic attitudes are, in some small way, warranted.

It means I wear a hot pink Pro-Tec bicycle helmet wherever I go.

It means I've stopped ignoring my impulses to dance with checkout girl to her grocery store/home furnishing store/clothing store's heavenly muzak.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com