2003-03-24

Buffet-style restaurants require a confidence in your fellow man that I just don't have. I know that people don't wash their hands as much as I do (I have a spreadsheet that contains a few months worth of evidence). I know that I hate certain foods and sometimes the serving spoon for the thing I like will touch the other thing that I hate because of someone's negligence. And usually there's something spilled on the floor and you have to wonder how much worse that could be than what's lying on your plate. You could be a little worse off, sure - but what about the food's situation? In the kingdom of food is it more noble to be eaten than not? If you said it is more noble to be eaten, what of our human proclivity toward long life?

When you eat in a normal restaurants you don't see what's going on. You don't have to confront your complete lack of faith in your fellow diners or engage in these internal ethical and pop-medical debates about food.

Ignorance might not be bliss, but it is delicious.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com