2003-03-27

I prefer to deposit money in my checking account at the ATM instead of inside because I don't really like getting tied into the little conversation that their customer service script wants me to get tied into and I find their questions annoying and unpersonable. When my ATM was disabled (which makes it sound like it fell off the roof and broke its legs, but it did not, I assure you - I merely lost it for a time and ordered a new one, rendering the old one mostly functionless except for those qualities that pertain to all plastic cards) I had to go inside.

When a man is wearing fleece pajamas at 2pm, you should not ask him if he would be interested in a home equity loan. This is simple logic, really. People who might want one of these loan products would own a home and would be able to pay back the loan. Someone wearing fleece pajamas probably doesn't own a house and probably doesn't have the means to pay it back. Or pattern recognition, based on one's previous experiences with people who wear fleece pajamas at 2pm.

I'm losing track. I went to the ATM today, because my ATM card is working, so I didn't have to go inside. On my way out of the funny little parking lot (I assign character traits to parking lots), I saw a girl that I used to work with. She had this really dry, really wonderful sense of humor that I now realize probably made her come off as caustic and sour to the rest of the people who worked with us.

And I have little doubt that I made a few enemies at that job, but by now they've all forgotten about me, which I'm quite happy about. I tried to think about how many people have a true distaste for me and have thought about that distaste by the time I get up in the morning. And the truth is that I have no idea who likes me and who doesn't.

But the real point is that I wonder why they didn't choose to cut up the road in front of our house - they just put new pavement over it, so near the curb there's a slight 1/2" ridge. This was all done last year, but lately I've been getting the mail and looking at that pavement a lot more.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com