2003-05-20

Thing I did with leftover baked potatoes that I really liked:
Remove the potato and discard skins. Mash up the potato well, adding sour cream, butter, chopped jalapeno cheese, bell peppers, onions and maybe some celery. Mix it up well. If you're very cavalier, add Tobasco at this point. If it's too moist, try adding some bread crumbs. Form the mixture into pancakes. Refrigerate to harden it a little bit. Break an egg, coat the pancake in the egg, dredge it in bread crumbs (if you use panko [the Japanese kind], it comes out a little better, I think). Pan fry that sucka until it's golden brown and serve with Tobasco sauce (if you garnish, try shredded cheese and sliced peppers) and a Diet Coke. Comes out crunchy-crispy on the outside, soft and buttery on the inside and spicy hot throughout. Makes a nice 11:30am breakfast while you watch some Wonder Years in your boxers (wear an apron in case the hot oil jumps and wants to burn your chest hair off). Two larged baked potatoes yields about 3 pancakes.

They put peanut butter in a squeezable pouch (also, here's individually wrapped 'slices' of peanut butter, which is something to wrap your head around). My brother always yells at me for putting my fingers in the peanut butter. Something like this will undoubtedly improve our relationship. I shouldn't do it, anyway. Peanut butter straight from the jar is the number one food people choke on.

The rest of today: go to the insurance place to figure out what kind of action is coming my way on this rearending deal.

If you know me in real life, you know I have an aversion to patterned dress socks because I associate them with esperate and sad men. Being a desperate and sad man, I wore argyles to the last interview and the socks and I are going back for a final rounder with some partner level people at the firm. There's nothing else that needs to be said about that except I always find it harder to come up with good questions to ask partners or VPs. "How much do you think I can squat?" is always a good one, though.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com