2003-05-30

This page has a collection of generic mac and cheese boxes. Notice how similar all of the boxes look - the spoon coming from the right, lifted out of the bowl with generally the same amount of macaroni on the spoon. It's like there was a day in design school that said, "Just as physics has Newton's Laws of Thermodynamics, food box design has immutable laws, too, such as The Store Brand Macaroni and Cheese Box Law." But I eat mac and cheese with a fork. The only ones that features a fork are the Turtle Macaroonies and Grandeur. That's 2 out of 20 and I think there's more than 10% of the population that uses a fork for their macaroni. Because macaroni is a pasta and you eat pasta with a fork.

Today's successes: white pizza (pizza bianca? I think) and some focaccia. The former was wicked successful, the latter was pretty much okay successful but should've used a different cooking vessel.

Since I accepted my offer, I've received a few residual turn downs from other jobs and I find them much less bothersome. It probably comes from thinking about the hours of interviews that would be involved before getting offered one of these jobs. I'll be working the same building as 2 firms that turned me down.

I guess I just find it hard to believe that there are people who actually enjoy watching people on cable news argue, mostly interrupting each other so nothing really gets said with any measure of efficiency. But there are people who respond to spam, too, and I have a hard time believing that.

Matt Nokes is probably the baseball player my friends and I discuss most, but I don't really know why. We talk about Dave Parker a lot, too, but that's because there's this old magazine cover that says "Dave Parker: the best ever?" And the answer is, of course, yes - Dave Parker is the best ever.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com