2003-06-13

A project: do public elementary schools schools in higher income areas serve more appetizing food? Each menu will be discussed and rated on a scale of 200 to 1600 (100 to 800 for verbal, 100 to 800 for math). Verbal is the written description or title of the food, quantitative is the image that I get. All but one is in King County, Washington, United States of America. Income data comes from the 2000 Census. This list will grow as I see fit.

Bellevue (District 405, median household income = $62,338)
The thing that pops out at me is the item called "PB&J & String Cheese." It strikes me as a little uninspired and, dare I say, lazy. Same with "Yogurt & Crispums." "BBQ Beef Sandwich" sounds interesting, though this is an elementary school so it probably isn't prepared onsite and either the meat is really dry or the bun is really soggy. The five choice variety and interesting side dishes ("Maple Syrup & Chicken Sausage") are a nice touch. Liberal use of the ampersand. Verbal = 620, Math = 590, total = 1210.

Auburn (District 408, $39,208)
Immediately I am confused about what "SNACKS: .25, .50, .75" could mean and why they list it on every single day. I think I prefer "Yogurt Lunch" to B'vue's "Yogurt & Crispums." More simple, pedestrian items: pizza, hamburger, chicken patty sandwich (Bellevue calls it "chickeburger"). The June 5th "Uholiday Dinner" is cute but I don't know that many people who like cranberry sauce. Noticably more repitition in menu items, but still had 4 or 5 choices per day. No ampersands. Verbal = 570, Math = 560, total = 1130

Kent (District 415, $52,274)
Interface is more difficult than I would like, but I'll manage. Imaginative menu title: "Bagel Boat." Two kinds of potatoes on a single day ("Cheeseburger and Tater Tots", "Beef Teriyaki and Jojos"). Usually 3 or 4 items, some generating unusual interest ("Salad Sampler Plate" - how many kinds of salad? I don't even like salad and this sounds interesting). Good use of family dining concept foods with Caesar salad and chicken poppers. Possibly invention of new food with "Pizzable," which I would like to get my hands on. Verbal = 620, Math = 670. Total = 1290

Renton (District 403, $45,820)
I like this layout quite a bit, but the single menu item is definitely working against them. The use of "Potpourri Day" instead of "Surprise" is a little odd, since I think of them throwing all the leftovers in a pot and cooking it down to a thick stew of some kind. I'm sure it's fine, though. "Bread" might mean "roll" but they don't get any points for could'ves would'ves, or shouldn'ves. Brand name pizza is different, if it's actually Tony's pizza (you know, the frozen kind that's quite gross?). No breakfast for lunch, which I decided would be fun to have. Verbal = 510, Math = 500, total = 1010.

Maple Valley (Tahoma School District #409, $67,159)
First, notice the title on this page: "Ethan Frome." Where do Edith Wharton and elementary school lunches cross paths? So they get verbal points for that. More typical use of "Cook's Choice Surprise Treat!" than Renton's "Potpourri Day." Brunch for lunch is what I wanted and they deliver. Different sides: "Potato Triangles" and the more descriptive "Whole Wheat Dinner Roll." Fairly descriptive, though still only has one item per day. Verbal = 580, Math = 600, total = 1180.

Federal Way (District #210, $49,278)
Labeled things that have pork - a nice touch. Food has nice pairing (chocolate pudding and banana), though sometimes exhibits an uncomfortable dissonance ("french fires, blueberries, Oreo cookies, milk"). Happy Birthday Cupcake and "Cutie Pie" both sound forced and decidedly un-fun, as I would rather just have a regular damn cupcake and regular damn pie. "Good Fortune Salad" sound weird. Still, it's a fairly well balanced menu, responsive to the relative popularity of entrees. Verbal = 590, Math = 620, total = 1210.

Harrisonburg, Virginia ($29,949)
Use of brand names ("Doritos") is unusual. I'm focusing on lunch, but I can't help but wonder if the breakfast pizza is what I think it is (greasy, floury bread thing covered with runny white sour cream-like thing, scrambled egg product and sausage/bacon product). I don't believe "Cheese Filled Breadsticks w/Dip" is a really adequate entree for many people. I do encourage you to take a look at some of the menu items for yourself. I am more than a little intrigued by the thought of corn dog nuggets. The "Z" at the end of chicken fryz is beginning to piss me off. Verbal = 540, Math = 510, total = 1050. Let this be a lesson: don't put pictures of your food on the internet or your math score drops.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com