2003-06-16

I had written a fairly long and involved satirical discussion of new branches of the federal government, but I think I want to talk about how I don't like the flavor of maple.

I wince when I see a maple bar and I prefer the really sugary, fakey syrup to the actual maple kind. The bottled maple flavor might as well be syrup of ipecac. That's all.

I was with a friend from high school yesterday and I started thinking this: how well adjusted should a 22 year old be? Because he seems a lot more well adjusted than me. I have a job lined up, yes, and he does not but he seems like he has his crap together. Look at me. I'm wearing ripped jeans, black Cons and a black T-shirt - I look like I woke up and came here after a long night of drinking. He stepped off a 6 hour plane trip last night and is still on Eastern Daylight, but he looks like he can put himself together.

So when I got home from this, mom asks me if I'm really getting rid of my truck when I move to the Big City. She reasoned I should keep it for when I go out on dates (naturally, this comment did not come without saying something about the possibility of me being gay). Which is kind of an absurd idea, since I haven't ever had an inclination to date. But what sense does it make to keep a car when you intend to live 8 blocks from the office building? And despite my sharp increase in income, I'd rather not spend that money on a car and all that goes along with it - insurance, parking (which would probably be close to the insurance tab), gas and maintenance. Also, this no-car plan would leave me (in sharp contrast to my peer group) completely free of all debt by age 24.

I also spilled water all over my bed again.

It happens about once a month. I don't know what I can do to stop it, so I've basically accepted it. Like my glasses. As though my mixture of clumsiness and poor choices were something comparable to astigmatism. The eye doctor will ask if I've thought about laser surgery and I haven't because I like my glasses. They let people make broad assumptions about me. It lends that air of sophistication and dignity to my face. I like taking my glasses off and everything is blurry. It's like muting the visual world. Too bad I can't walk very far without them before I get lost, dizzy or run into something.

Today I went motoring through Seattle looking at apartments. I've driven manual transmission vehicles since I started driving - 7 years or so - and the hills in Seattle make me look like I'm just starting, esp. Spring and James. An aside, when you are driving down the hill on James, Pioneer Square looks something like a theme park - maybe Universal Studios or something. The different colored brick, large lettering and general old tymey feel of the place. It's very creepy. There's also a lovely, pedestrian absurdity to driving down 5th where the monorail is elevated above the road and seeing people fly in between the pillars. I think it would've been a great level on a "San Francisco Rush"-type game.

Let's get back to bed, where we belong.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com