2003-06-20

Tony Shalhoub looks a lot like Emeril. Maybe we should wonder why we haven't seen them in the same place at the same time.

A very out-of-the-blue email arrived from a girl I had mild acquaintance with 9 or 10 months ago. She had graduated and returned to the Bay Area. She asked if I remembered the 'crush' shirt - a shirt with my picture in front of a stylized sun and the words "I HAVE A CRUSH ON KID L. TETRIS." Yes, I did. She said she was wearing it to 'The Bars' (what are 'The Bars' that everyone generically refers to?) and a few people told her that, "He must be the coolest fucking guy in the world." And I concur. Unfortunately, my workgroup's closest practice is a small one in Sacramento - close, but not really. So on the unlikely chance I am staffed on a project out of that office, the likelihood of me ever getting to go drinking with her is slim. Luckily there's about 2 or 3 dozen of these shirts floating around the United States, so the opportunities will certainly present themselves.

I found a couple of Matt Nokes baseball cards, so that's going to be my present to the newlyweds. Nothing says "So. You got married." like a matching pair of 1991 Fleer Matt Nokes baseball cards. Tip: don't invite me to your wedding. I have a fundamental disagreement with them.

On weddings: one of the episodes of A Wedding Story today had a woman who said something like, "The only bad thing you could do to our love is stand in the way of it." It sounds like it came out of a soap opera or something like that. I hope people don't say things like that in real life, away from TV.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com