2003-07-01

Okay, I saw a couple of guys reading books at the bus stop: one was reading a Harry Potter book. This other guy, an older guy wearing a brown blazer, was reading a paperback version of The Brothers Karamozov. And it was only at that point did I notice the similarity between "Fyodor" and "Theodore" and I started thinking about A) The Cosby Show (which, on an E! True Hollywood Story, or something like it, was portrayed as being anti-Simpsons or in opposition to The Simpsons or at least bitter rivals - so I decided I don't like the show) and B) Alvin & The Chipmunks. And I saw another guy reading "New York City for Dummies" but that was something quite different.

I stopped off at a Place of Previous Summer Employment, which was fun and nice. There's these four girls - nice girls, unusually pretty girls - all about 2 or 3 years younger. If someone asked me "Who, of the people you've been acquainted with in the past 12 months, would you marry if you had to marry someone?" and I couldn't pick a fictional character, the one I would pick is one of them because she has this profound understanding of what my intellectual gifts are good for ("I want to play Trivial Pursuit, but only if you are on my team"). And who can resist a girl who wants to play Trivial Pursuit. Or go bowling - tonight she suggested we go bowling. She loves provolone, too. What a peach. I almost resent her being so physically beautiful, becuase it probably gets in the way of as many people realizing what a smart and curious person she is.

I always think of one of the other girls when I see cinnamon dental floss. I think I'd rather have mint or unflavored floss and, despite it being dental floss, there's something unwholesome about it. It just feels like something you'd buy at an adult novelty store.

Of someone I know, a person said: "She looks like an Asian version of that girl from Joe Dirt - Bridget Daniel." It still doesn't make much sense to me.

Also today, I was reading my book and pulling out my lunch in my office when one of the senior managers asked if I wanted to join him for lunch. This would've entail me - your 22 year old author with an emotional age of about 12 - conversationally stumbling through sandwiches with a trio of 50 year old men. When I was born, these three guys had already begun their careers. Any of them could be my dad. Anyway, I declined, because my current book is delicious and all I want to do right now is consume the words. It's not heroin, so get off my back.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com