2003-07-09

This afternoon - while I could have/should have been holed up in my office jamming away at a keyboard - I was drinking and eating, spending my company's money (but in a professional service firm, the professionals are the product, the thing you sell, the source of income - so we were really spending money that we had earned for a much larger group of people). Anyway, I get to look forward to about another 4 or 5 of these before the month is over.

Today had 2 interesting bus people. One of them had stuff branded with three logos: one law firm that doesn't have an office here, another law firm that doesn't have an office here and a search company that doesn't have an office here. Strangely, his laptop had a purple Post-It that said "Tom's laptop" or whatever his name was, I can't really remember. The other guy was wearing a leather fedora and reading a wrestling magazine.

Today's Screwed Up Email of the Day was, as so many are, a group email. However, I probably shouldn't have been in this group. Just like many of the others. It was an Evite to a graduation party (wait, there's a punchline that references the 'graduation' part), but the list of invitees was basically composed of people who signed his yearbook in high school and have their email address listed on the alumni page - something like 200 people or so. The punchline is this: the text for the invitation looks like he had punched the grammar/spelling fairy in the face. "Apriciate", "envited", "newley", "Saterday", "your more than welcome", "just encase" (encase what? What should I encase?!?!). There's another half dozen or so that I could pick at, but the point is well made: he's not very smart, but he plays sports, and he has graduated from college.

I found a few extra supercomfortable Herman Miller Aeron chairs tucked away on my floor and I had to ask myself: why do I suffer without this chair? I think I will make one of these chairs my chair. I need to decide if I'll do this as a Secret Op or just ask my boss about achieving a plane of sitting comfort previously unknown to me. I'm going to bake a pizza, watch a baseball game and think about swingsets. An update on the progress of the list of activities: attempted to use a pull-out cutting board in lieu of an actual peel and, as one would expect, it's much more difficult to put the board deeper into the oven and simultaneously shake the pizza loose. As such, I ended up with a calzone. Lacking tomatoes, this was actually a white calzone - the accidental equivalent of a baked quesadilla. Also, someone at work gave me one of these today. It's a strange fruit - sweet and tasty, but very different from other things I've eaten. Kind of a milky barely-translucent meat (or is it flesh? Because on a human, flesh = skin, right?)

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com