2003-07-13

While driving in the car, Brother and I were listening to "Sleeping In" by The Postal Service (who, as you will remember, arrived via The Singular Candace Who Has Her Very Own Piece of the Very Nexus of the Universe) and he said something to effect of, "This is the first song I've heard about killing a Kennedy." And, you know, I think I kind of agree with him.

And I believe I found a place to live. A newer building that's like 7 blocks from my office. The idea of walking to work and shortening my commute time by a factor of 5 or 6 is appealing. Almost as appealing as, say... you, me and a 6 hour tape full of Dawson's Creek episodes.

On the topic, Dawson's Creek has this weird pattern of protraying adults as being equally irresponsible and often complicit in the indiscretions of the youths. Like when the kids decide to drink, it's usually in a bar so the bartender has done something wrong, everyone's family has fallen apart, etc. Maybe I happen to know adults who are unusually good decisionmakers. Maybe adults in Massachusetts suck at making decisions (perhaps an odd, experimental program in the educational system during the 50s and 60s?).

Because if someone has a Monet print it probably has water lilies somewhere in it:
1. "Pascal Etchenic."
2. "Is it a picture of the beach in bright, primary colors - reds, oranges and blues mostly?"
1. "..."
2. "Is it?"
1. "Yes."

On that topic, Severini's 'Dynamic Hieroglyphic of the Bal Tabarin' has been of my all-time favorite paintings since like 8th grade.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com