2003-07-23

Before I started this gig, I thought it might be hard to work for 8 or 9 or 10 hours straight, since I hadn't done anything like that for quite some time. It's not hard at all.

On the topic of work, my office is moving. Actually, only My Office the Idea/Reference Point is moving. My Office the Here-And-Now Physical Location is staying in the same place and will house a young colleague whose proximity to her boss will shrink from 25 to 15 feet. My office is being moved all the way across the building. Downsides: my treasured view of local tourist treasures is replaced by a view of other tall buildings (if some of them were see-through skyscrapers, I could see my house from there!). Upsides: closer to my peers and the office gets less sunlight, so there's even less abstract social pressure to steward a living plant in the office window.

MORE WORK STUFF?!?! Yes. I've been editing some stuff for this report and I realized that most of the meaty content sections break after 4 to 8 lines, separating ideas. So I will do this here, too.

And today the elevators weren't working around lunchtime. They said they believed it was a "mechanical problem". Which is better than an emotional problem, since those can take years to fix. I didn't have intentions on leaving, but the obtuse restraint of You Must Take Twenty Five Flights of Stairs If You Wish to Leave was more than a little unsettling.

Explaining the construction of the wine industry and why it costs so much in a restaurant.

Two ideas.
1. A global postal service. I know Canada's post is really slow and I'm sure Mexico's is what you'd expect from Mexico - so the USPS should start annexing lesser postal systems. Outsource the rural postal service to the existing franchise and limit operations to where it is cost effective. Change name to something less United States-ish and expand globally. Compete with FedEx and UPS in international markets as a low-cost provider.

2. ePie. Fact: I love pie. Fact: I use a computer all damn day. Fact: If I want pie in the middle of the day, I can't get it unless I leave my office and seek it out myself. Idea: create a global network bakeries and bike messenger or floral-type delivery services to create a synergistic highly scalable pie solution.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com