2003-07-22

To people who are travelling in Europe:
I'm not sure I care how well you like Italy. Stop filling my inbox with email. Continue your cliche post-college experience and I'll continue my cliche post-college experience, not forcing it on others. Also, when you get back - the pictures. I don't care about those either. Because everyone has seen pictures of those landmarks before (albeit, they were in focus and didn't have you, your backpack, your forced grin and your $40 baseball cap in them). Unless it's a picture of you riding dragon or unicorn in front of Trevi Fountain or a celebrity giving/receiving some type of sex service in a Venetian gondola.

Re: my cliche post-college experience. I got a more interesting project today. It took time away from emailing and eating Sweet Tarts. I skipped lunch today because 1) I didn't bring any food, 2) it is hot, so I didn't want to leave my air-conditioned box to get food and 3) aforementioned Sweet Tarts.

(I had actually thought about seeing a movie during lunch, but I looked at the listings. 16 screens. 7 different movies. Think about that for a moment. I'll wait. In each of these movies, my level of interest was less than or equal to zero. Did you think about the 16 screen/7 movie thing? Here's something else: one of the movies only plays once a day, so from about 1 pm on it is actually 16 screens showing 6 different movies [they have done an admirable job of limiting the variety of cinematic crap you are perpetuating, but I wish they would work on the volume of cinematic crap being pereptuated]. Friend: of all the possible futures we could've lived in, we live in the worst possible future [see 16 screen/7 movie paradox]. Anyway, I hope you have been enjoying your Summer Movie Season. God knows I haven't.)

Re: my more interesting project. I like getting new projects. It's like a first date. We're introduced and very polite to each other, then we go back to my office and the lights go off and there's some uncomfortableness while we feel each other's shape and each assess the probability of getting it in the very near future. And some sobering thought about what else is there besides the very near future. Is there something longer term? Not long-term in terms of geology, but perhaps long-term in terms of high school romances. When will I first take you home with me and have my way with you on my bedroom computer? How will my friends and family react to you? Will they like you? Will you like them?

Safeco Field is the only ballpark below sea level. Ignore the runs scored thing, since a relevant elevation coefficient for a runs/game function is probably going to be a very small, statistically insignficant one attached to something like Elevation^2 (or e^Elevation would probably fit a little better). Just understand that Safeco is below sea level. It's funny.

I hate the heat, but I love Gary Busey.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com