2003-08-20

Lately I've been feeling some kind of imaginary pressure to culture myself. Actually, that should be " 'culture' myself." As in, the kind of culture that the parents made sure I got a few times a year that's been completely absent lately.

I think I can explain this better. There's a level of guilt with feeling not-cultured. It's a dirtiness, really. And going to something that isn't self-consciously ironic or full of smoking pretty boys and girls in low-rise jeans and Chuck Taylors is like taking a shower. Don't get me wrong - I enjoy the theater and the symphony and what have you for what it intrinsically is and for having an opportunity to participate the modern American tradition of Jewish arts patronage [except you aren't a Jew] (point rescinded, but it's really secondary or tertiary to my argument, Hoss) [continue, Loverboy], but I'd go even less if it didn't give me that clean, honest feeling.

And that's just it - the clean/honest thing. I need a break from irony once in a while. Something that isn't standing in the audience with me, making sure I'm catching all of the recursive/reflexive jokes and nods and stabs at popular culture while it tries to market itself as something subcultural or anti-cultural or hypercultural. Something that isn't infested with people with iPods and digital cameras and drinking PBR in a self-conscious way. GODDAMMIT MAKE THE META STOP!

[The clean thing also comes from being around people who are showered, shaven and dressed like it's prom night or something. It's very cute.]

Don't misunderstand me, I still think irony has plenty of legs left in it. We just need a break once in a while.

"But what does the imaginary pressure to 'culture' oneself manifest itself as" you might ask. Heated internal deliberations between buying symphony/theater tickets or a Playstation 2, mostly. [They go like this: "You'll use the PS2 more." "Brother already has one and I didn't use it that much." "It functions as a DVD player, too." "I have one." "It sucks." "That's true. But I'd feel better about myself with the tickets." "That's conjecture."] No, the experiential/material debate isn't new or interesting.

---

I didn't see My Morning Red Girl this morning, but I did see her in the afternoon (a happy surprise!). She was wearing a red skirt.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com