2003-08-19

A non-canonical list of movies not currently in theaters that I am looking forward to seeing: Hell House (documentary). Rabbit-Proof Fence (such a neat title). Three Colors. The First Year (another documentary). Amores Perros. Personal Velocity (I've seen the making of this, so I guess I should see the movie itself). Calle 54 (yet another documentary). Winged Migration (make a documentary and then put it in a blender and grind it into a fine dust and I will watch the dust). The Gleaners and I (Yes, it bothers me that lately I've been interested in French film more than usual). Saturday Night and Sunday Morning.

Re: the first one (Hell House). When I was reading the description, etc. I kind of thought of Devil's Playground, which was pretty entertaining.

The Wholly Incandescent Candace likes puppies. I like robots (for the sake of this, ignore robots shaped like puppies). As a set-up for a sit-com: a robot person watching someone's puppies while they are on vacation or vice versa. Or a married couple separately brings home a puppy and a robot on the same day as a surprise for the other. At first, the puppy would be afraid of the robot. Then it would start tugging on the small plastic or metal pieces of the robot or licking the robots LED lights on their "face" or the top of their smooth plastic dome. At the end of the episode it would show the robot stowed in the corner while its battery charges and the puppy would be curled up next to it because it gets warm when the batteries are charging. It would be just like a perfectly perverse calendar picture. This is something I would expect on, say, Full House or another show that relies on a lot of audience "ahhhhhh"s.

I found a 30 year old systems engineering and network analysis textbook stuck in with some technical manuals (reading these technical manuals is bit like eating beauty bark). I've begun working my way through the book to help deal with the dripping nothingness that seems to mark my days. This is only relevant because there were some math classes that I wanted to take but didn't get to because I was a math department outsidah - 514 and the 407/408/409 series. And I feel so enriched now that I'm finally learning this stuff that I wanted to learn. But it could all just be residual excitement from the vacuum cleaner purchase.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com