2003-08-23

I had a quest today. A pink shirt and pink tie quest. Forty-five minutes into this quest, I was carrying 2 bags from different stores (which did not have pink shirts or pink ties) and was walking into another one in hopes that they would have pink shirts or pink ties (ties only, and none that I really liked). But ahead of me was a woman carrying the exact same 2 bags as me. And I worried: Oh no! Am I stalking her? I wasn't. Also at this store, I saw a woman who took some interest in wrinkle-free cotton dress shirts. She says, "Honey, come here." He holds up a really huge boot, "Lookatthis! Look at how big it is!" No answer. He comes over to shirt, "Should I buy this?" "No, honey. You need shirts." It was exactly like a TV commercial.

And let's get rid of silver shirts. They are a waste.

A modest proposal for NFL commentating:
Get some fresh concepts in color commentators. We've grown tired of the current jock/jackass combinations. We need some fresh blood. How about a legal philosopher? I know Miguel Estrada is having a hard time getting a job. Or an academic - give a philosophy major an actual job. Pick one that has written a thesis on the objectivity/subjectivity of knowledge or has read a lot of Fichte, Novalis, Kierkegaard, Descartes, Hegel, Heidegger, Weber, etc.

Because imagine this: there's an instant replay situation. Would you rather hear someone drone on and on in the typical footballish fashion where they tend to isolate one or two things that aren't especially interesting. Or would rather have a legal philosopher build a case for one side or another based on reason and logic and precedent! Or an academic philosopher just bitch about how we'll never actually what happened, even though we have 8 camera angles!

My favorite commentator, though, would be a quantum or astro-physicist. I would desperately want them to defy their professional principles and start applying the gooey topic of superposition/Schrodinger's cat to football - did he or did he not have possession while his foot was in-bounds? It could be either and by observing the replay we actually create the past. We make him inbounds or not.

Someone who has watched 'Rashomon' a bunch of times could probably do just as well as any of these people, though.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com