2003-08-31

I never went to divinity school, but I hung out with people who did: You may remember from a long and arid conversation we had in the car, or a long and stumbling conversation we had in a bar, or a long and red T-shirted conversation we had when we were working at the pool that I at one time wanted to be a clergyperson. I'm not particularly religious - in fact I've never been very religious (if I took off my shoes, I'd probably have enough fingers and toes to count the number of times I've been to church). It's because I thought it was kind of a weird thing to do. I don't want to be one anymore. My job's fine. That's all.

I made ravioli (I mean made made - dough and filling, rolled and stuffed, closed and frozed). I actually did this twice. The second time was a little easier since I had a rolling pin to use instead of a can of soup.

From work yesterday to the present: Bleh. Nothing to do. Bleh -the status quo: seniors are using meeting time to work out kinks in their hacky standup routine. Hmm... my boss is swearing. There's something to do! Something turns into a huge something. Huge something becomes a dragon. Skip lunch to continue fighting dragon. Rush from stabbing the dragon overshadows whatever hunger I may have once had. Dragon lays there bleeding to death with rainbows and unicorns shooting out of its wounds. I watch, contented for a while, then I stab it some more. That's how dragons die, you know - rainbows and dragons and swords. A frappuccino at 5:30pm is lunch. Leave at 6. Drink water and watch subtitled movies. Dreamless sleep. A sandwich plays the role of breakfast. I play the role of breakfast eater. Unsubtitled movie. Grocery shopping.

Today I went home and prepared aforementioned ravioli as dinner for the family, whilst playing the role of "good son." I was talking to a friend and a question came up, "Guess who So&So is boning while her boyfriend is away for the summer?" And while the actual question doesn't surprise me in the slightest since that's kind of what we talk about and the answer didn't either, it does bother me that this girl is so validated by men who are best understood as being "underachieving." The kind who, when you hear their name, are a little scared you'll end up like them someday, but realize that you don't have a drinking problem so it's much less likely to happen.

Who doesn't like kittens in baskets?

Networkcar is kind of like LoJack except it does more things and operates on a wireless network. I think LoJack is a proprietary network.

Fact: I've probably heard Radiohead songs on fewer than 10 occasions in my entire life.

When I took a nap, I had a dream about being on stage at what I believe was my high school reunion. I was in a punk band and before a song I said, "This is for James Van Der Beek and no one else. So everyone just get out of the way and let him enjoy the song." Because I think he's the kind of person who likes to sit in a chair in the middle of an empty dance floor and have songs played for him. He was drinking a mojito - possibly the most pretentious thing you can order in a bar. This is why we don't talk about dreams, okay?

Glad you read this far? Probably not. My friends, Roomba arrived several days ago but I only had the opportunity to pick Roomba up yesterday. It says 12 hours is a full charge, but I'm not a patient rabbit and I let him (this is funny - would most people consider a cleaning robot a woman? Like Rosie on the Jetsons? I consider Roomba more of a pet with a inclination towards clean floors) charge for but 6 hours. This is long enough to do what I want it to do.

I could turn this into a long story - the wide-eyed ear to ear grin I was wearing as I opened it, the soft feeling I got when I saw it work for the first time. But I won't. It's just very cute to be here typing this and then hear it bump into a door, as though he's a dog. "Roomba, do you need to go outside so you can go to the bathroom?" Silly robot.

Emo tears and onion tears are different.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com