2003-10-09

1. At work I get these gift certificates to fun, neat, fancy restaurants and I get them for no reason other than I AM A WINNER (possibly a different reason, but it's not important and I'm not exactly sure why). And at last I've begun to use them.

So the other night we went to this restaurant where we actually went for a high school dance, though we weren't each other's date and it was like 5 years ago and we were in formal wear. But what to my wondering eyes should appear but several tuxedoed males and their female counterparts in evening gowns. And we both just started laughing. Because - think about it for a moment - high school kids dressed like that? It's funny. It's like seeing a polar bear smoking a cigar or a lizard reading a self-help book. Dissonance, right? And there's also this cocky stride of taking oneself a little too seriously, but this behavior sort of degenerates when you are around other people your own age, since they've seen you eat cat treats on a $1.75 bet.

[ Fact: Everyone is weird (either a little or a lot) in high school. ]

Anyway, it was an exceedingly lovely dinner and I'm fairly certain that I've entered the Tomato Zone since everything I order has tomato slices in it.

2. How to Be a Hero

Alternate text for that link, coming to us live via a Tina Turner song: "We don't need another hero/ We don't need to know the way home/ All we want is life beyond the thunderdome"

3. I think I might remember the point of the dinner story. When dessert came around, we split this totally fucking amazing cake, right? But we split it, right? Because, (even though this is completely not a date because she has a boyfriend and I have intimacy issues), she's not going to eat the slice by herself (because I've seen this happen a number of times), right? My question is this: how do you handle the logistical side of dessert? What's your favorite cake? What's your favorite kind of pajamas? Do you spell pajamas like "pyjamas"? No luck. I don't remember the point of the dinner story.

4. How are you?

5. Understand this: I like and do really dorky things. For example, I argued with someone about a Simpsons quote for a solid 10 minutes. How did we settle the argument? When I failed to acknowledge their insertion of a Simpsons quote in the argument with the next like from the quote [though I do know the quote ("I'll even do it pro boner." "It's pro bono." "I know what I said.")]. It's just that the universe needed to be put back in balance, even if it was just for that moment.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com