2003-10-13

Idea: Frugal Eye for the Free-Spending Queer Guys. A sensible straight man attempts to explain to the gay men that, out of concern for financial solvency, you shouldn't spend absurd amounts of money on haircuts, "product", clothes or food. Then audits their spending habits on things like haircuts and "product" the proceeds to show them how to delay gratification for one hot minute. Also, a humor segment that compares the ROI on clothes, haircuts and "product" versus actual investment instruments. If the target audience is well versed in portfolio theory, consider beating this subject to death by building an efficent portfolio frontier consisting of a typical S&P index fund, designer clothes, haircuts and hair product.

A U.S. News cover asks (rhetorically, I guess) "Does Arnold matter?" and perhaps this is the wrong thing to put on the cover of your magazine, because all I think of is, "Not really. But does U.S. News & World Report matter? I don't think it does." It's not like I think Arnold matters (I would argue that Arnold of "Hey Arnold!" has more impact on my life since it captures so much more of my attention), but sensationalized general interest reporting doesn't matter that much, either.

When my brother and I saw a movie a while ago, I remember a preview for "Intolerable Cruelty" and we both started laughing and saying, "That movie is going to be so terrible." Well, the reviews are in:
"Oh yeah, divorce is hysterical."
"The movie simply isn't interesting."
"Reeks with the stale sweat of desperate writers."

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com