2003-10-19

CUTEST! Seeing someone looking at a de Kooning and they start squinting their eyes.

NOT SURPRISING! All of the commercials for my college that air during the football games show the lauded medical school. None of them show an econometrics professor making fun of sociologists or an IO professor making fun of actuaries or another economics professor piss drunk at a kitschy bar and buying round after round for his students. In short, faculty sponsored obnoxiousness and inebriation are unpopular themes for advertising colleges.

DRIVEN BY SPITE! The microwave says "Your food is ready" when the timer expires (if you only use the timer function and not the actual microwave function, it will say "END"). This has begun to rake on me, since the microwave has no way of determining this. So I've started cooking things half way, waiting for it to tell me it's done, then smirking as I show it that the food is, in fact, not done. There's good and bad versions of crazy and I'm pretty certain this isn't the good kind. Imagine an old Dominican guy standing in the kitchen, wearing only his underwear, pointing at his plate and saying, "You stupid moo-cheen. This moo-cheen knows nothing. Hey Isabella! This moo-cheen is stupid." Then he pulls it out of the wall and throws it out the window of his apartment.

SOMETHING! I walk past the county building every morning and afternoon so I could very easily walk in and change my voter's registration address, so I could get a new voting place, but I can't seem to find that level of interest to alter my inertia. Until I realized I could just request an absentee ballot online. Sit at home. Drink gin. Vote "no" on my absentee ballot.

SOMETHING ELSE! You know when you see someone walking off an airplane and your brain sometimes does that slow motion thing like you see in movies? The song that's always playing my brain is "Death of a Gremmie" by Dick Dale.

NOT ENTIRELY UNRELATED! We went to go get milkshakes and watch airplanes. Milkshakes taste better at night, when it's a weeknight, when it's cold, when someone else is wearing your sort of itchy wool sweater, when you're on the top floor of a parking garage and planes are taking off and landing. I can't believe how long ago that was, too.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com