2003-11-11

I hadn't been drinking soda but a friend of mine started talking about root beer and there she was - the bewitching Sugar Siren. So when I'm riled into a thick sweat I say, "Yeah, let's make this worth it" and I start skipping down to the mercado to pick up some Inca Kola. And now that I'm home I've got this big golden idol that's sitting in my fridge, laughing at me. "You're weak and I'm delicious!" (for the court's record, I haven't actually drank it yet. It will be a part of tomorrow's balanced breakfast).

I've been teetering on the edge of sick for about 5 days now and I've realized that I'd rather be sick and icky at work than sick and icky at home. Also, I'm a little sad that there are people who get today off or get paid extra for working today.

In Lost in Translation, I decided I like the karaoke version of "Brass in Pocket" better than the original Pretenders version. Not true of the Elvis Costello song, though.

Here's my idea for a book club. A book club for people like me: people who read 15 or 20 pages of books or the back covers of books or go to bookstores and scan the shelves or see reviews of books or just hear things about books from people who may or may not read books themselves. I think it would be a lot better that way. Have about a dozen people talking about a book they know nothing about. You'd be creating this new text in a fabulous, disgusting new way. It would be even better than a real book club because this book club's text would sort of, kind of, almost but not really be separated from the book in question. I think this idea is about 70% as good as Movie Reviews Based on Trailers.

Speaking of which:

Good Boy!
What I think of this movie is actually more visual than literary.

Underworld
For Halloween this movie dressed up as a different movie but everyone was like, "I can tell it's you, Underworld. Please leave the party. We don't want you here. You're making everyone uncomfortable."

Wonderland
There's a priest, a rabbi and an imam in a canoe in the middle of the ocean and they all agree that this movie sucks.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com