2003-11-22

On a busride with a girl who was wearing a bumblebee scarf and reading genre fiction. I decided I don't have a problem with it anymore - it being genre fiction. At least people are reading. I could draw a fairly tight circle around the crap I read, making it literature of a personal genre. That's not really any better, is it? What makes genre fiction worse? I had this dicussion with an English professor who confessed to reading romance novels. At first I thought bumblebee scarf girl was reading a Choose Your Own Adventure book (the books that refuse to hide reader agency!), for some reason.

My older woman/Canadian thing collided in real life a couple days ago when I met an older woman who is Canadian. Siutations like this make me very flustered and I'm sure I make subconscious attempts to appear worldly, and I'm sure this makes me seem even more insane. And when our mutual acquaintance mentioned whatever finer points they think I have, it somehow sounded like I captained my school's math team and computer club. I felt so naked and exposed. She's sort of like an actualized Catriona (this would be a good birthday present for me next year! That fee range is in Canadian dollars, so I can wait until the American dollar strengthens) for me, since I've actually shook hands with this one and exchanged niceties. This whole thing would've been so much less nervewracking had I not been told she was Canadian and she hid her accent more. Awesome accent - neither BC nor Toronto, but a mix of both. Very hottt. I was thinking about writing her a fan letter. Too creepy or just creepy enough?

There's a kid from China staying with my parents for Thanksgiving and my mom said, unprovoked, "Well, we don't eat rice everyday." I've never laughed so hard at that woman. The Chinese kid laughed, too, because it's funny.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com