2003-12-17

Here's a game: guess how many and what types of flour I have right now, both in my freezer (FLOUR CAN GO BAD!) and in my cupboard. Check your answers at the bottom.

The television tries to tell you to spend $20 on a pound of salt. It's fucking salt. If you are using salt for its nutritional content, perhaps you are using too much salt? Also, don't trust people who want you to spend $20 on a pound of salt.

I dutifully kept my campagne starter alive for 3 months. It was the closest thing to a pet I that I've had (it was named Todd). Friday, I killed Todd - yes, fungicide. I tossed it out. I felt like a fraud when I used it, because I had used things besides grapes, water and flour. I didn't want to look at it anymore. It was embarassing to me.

So I bought some black grapes and crushed them in a soupy mixture of white/rye/wheat (2/1.25/1 by weight) and lukewarm distilled water a few days ago. It's going strong and I love it and it's going to a fucking rad bread, I can already tell.

I think Mont Blanc might have one of the most annoying corporate websites. Booz Allen Hamilton's is annoying because it turns "bah.com" into "bah.com/bahng/SilverDemo?PID=Home.html&NGPgID=HOME&contType=TABLE&dispType=HTML". I just think that you should be able to orient yourself within a site based on he file structures, which should have meaning - like ".com/news/2003/june/". Booz also has this really long sidebar. That sidebar also shows up 13 times in Moz 1.5 - blacking out one of the listings each time. I checked and it does the exact same thing in Safari for Mac.

I started reading "Dry" - the new Augusten Burroughs book - a week or so ago. I liked his two previous books, so I was sure I'd like this one. But so far it's basically about rehab and you know, rehab doesn't sound too bad. I don't do drugs, I don't drink. My primary vice is sugar and I think that's okay. Regardless, I could probably do pretty well in rehab and it would be easier to enjoy if you weren't hooked on something.

Answers:
Cupboard (4): Gold Medal unbleached AP, Pillsbury cake, Gold Medal unbleached bread, a mix of durum semolina and AP from I forget where.
Freezer (5): dark rye, light rye, buckwheat, durum semolina, King Arthur whole wheat. There's also 2 reserve bags of GM unbleached AP, but it doesn't count.
Give yourself 1 box of Mike n' Ikes for each correct answer.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com