2003-12-27

1. Dream crap: this girl returned from Italy and was working at an Italian restaurant, which is where my therapist holds most of our sessions to help me confront my relationship with food (except I don't have a therapist that does this in real life). Out of guilt for never returning this book that I let her borrow, she lets me start living at their grotesquely large house, where her older brother falls in love with me.

2. Holiday crap: there's this family that we spend every holiday with and their daughter, my age, got married about 18 months ago and it's not a stretch to believe this young couple is patently insane. They have these sit-com-esque (or newspaper comic-ish) spats about vacuuming and dishes and salt. Except it's the kind of thing that you expect will grow into a timebomb inside one of them. And they'll end up on the news in a story that starts out like, "A Pensacola man remains unconscious after his wife viciously attacked him with a tire iron after pulling over to the side of the highway, apparently provoked by a comment about her poor driving habits. The woman remains in police custody, awaiting a bail hearing."

3. The shopping season has caused me to become really interested in the accounting principles associated with gift certificates/gift cards. At most stores the revenue from the sale of gift cards isn't applied to the books until the card is actually used, so January and February revenue figures get inflated with December money.

4. I don't know what the hell else. I'm all full of soda and can't think straight because I find this environment very distracting. I got a bath mat for Christmas. Also, my dad polled my interest in various dates of professional basketball games and I have a harder and harder time becoming interested in going to these games because I've somehow convinced myself that when I'm sitting there in 17,000 seat arena, I'm not watching the game so much as passively participating in a conversation about race. I don't like watching the game much on TV anymore, either.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com