2004-01-08

On lunch, I ran into my boss from the job immediately prior to this one. It brought back a lot of memories. Let's review them. The crux of this job was it was a student position, mostly programming and lifting things, because she could not do either. As such, I actually spent the majority of my work day taking short naps in various public spaces, reading about hovercrafts, looking for goth poetry websites and stealing their poetry and submitting it to literature reviews, looking for another job, etc.

FAO Schwarz is going out of business, right? So I was walking by the store on my way back from lunch and poked in and 1) they still sell these stupid 5 foot tall plush animals for like $300 and 2) people who are shopping there remind me of vultures and 3) I've reached the age where nothing in that store interests me except candy, and even at 50% off, there's better candy cheaper.

Father is taking the Tetris Brothers to the Sonics game, except I'm sure he's going to ask me to own up to some past debt I owe him. The next day I'll be attending a cheerleading competition. Like a 4th grader attending an Ibsen play or my sister watching The Simpsons, most of what goes on will be lost on me. I'm just happy to be there, among good, average people with no particular hopes or dreams.

On The Royal Tenenbaums DVD, Wes Anderson doesn't say anything about it in the commentary, but there's a stack of 7 or 8 adult movies on the table in Eli's place. The legible titles: Dark & Dirty (twice) and Black Heaven.

There's this Japanese place near my office that's small and cheap and and the prices usually work out to round numbers when tax is added, so I love it and when I was there the other day at lunch I picked up the a semi-recent, late December New Yorker and there was this George Saunders story there. "There" was used 4 times in that last sentence.

Today's theme was tamarind soda and sweet bread and I can't get that Tragically Hip song out of my head, "Butts Wigglin'".

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com