2004-01-12

On Saturday I was home and saw my best friend from kindergarten playing in a college football all star game on ESPN, the announcers fawning over his freakish tank-like stature. We went to high school together, too, and I'm still close friends with his ex-girlfriend, who my mom thinks I should marry, but there are obvious obstacles to this, since she's currently dating an arc-blasted moron. I'd say that I dislike him with the fury of a thousand cyclones, but that's not true (her current boyfriend, I'm talking about now - disorganized stream of consciousness sometimes needs clarification). He's pretty okay and now that I think about it, he sort of looks like Dawson in a way, so if I ever decide to make an adaptation of the show (or start a service where I adapt Dawson's Creek fan fiction and send the writer back a video tape or DVD of their stupid fan fiction put into action by actors who, in their own way, remind me of characters from the show), I think I'll cast him.

Thank Jeebus, I finally have some client billable work, and since work is the gooey center that validates my life (but I like to sneak away and fool around with my sultry mistress, Tivo, who is now happily humming away wirelessly - also, there's someone in my building who has a wireless network they call "whore") this current development has made me loosen up and decompress a little bit. And on my way to work today I began thinking that maybe I ought to get a religion - one of those real ones that's put down on paper and includes other people, instead of a potpourri of convenient personal superstitions like I have right now - to help fill some of my extra time.

My favorite baguette recipe is simple and easy to remember: 10 oz AP flour, 1/2 tsp yeast, 1/2 tsp sea salt (use a little more if it's coarser grain - 3/4 tsp for table salt), 6 oz 110F water (this is the low end, up to 7 oz for a really loose dough). Make one batch of the dough 3 days ahead of time. Store it in the fridge, in a bag (preferably one that doesn't impart off flavor). Cut up the old dough (pate fermentee) and put it in your Kitchenaid brand stand mixer. Then put the same ingredients - 10 oz flour, 6 oz 110F water, 1/2 tsp sea salt and instant yeast - in there (THIS RECIPE IS RECURSIVE! DOES THAT FREAK YOU OUT?). Mix on speed 4 with a dough hook for 10-12 minutes (dough should be tacky). Let it double, but refrigerating it overnight yields nice flavor development. I only make one 16 oz loaf and reserve the remaining 16 oz for the next time I make it (typically the next day). Shape the dough, preheat oven to 450. Let oven preheat for an hour, while the dough rises. Bake it a stone with improvised steam production for 20-25 minutes. When you pull it from the oven the internal temperature will be 200-205F.

(P.S. to myself - you need to buy groceries at some point in the near future)

The Mystery Bag game. I carry the same bag with me almost wherever I go. What's in it right now? A yellow legal pad. McSweeney's 12. An alumni magazine, that continues to bore me with uninspired alumnotes. About 60 Halls brand mentholyptus flavored cough drops. Chopsticks, unused. 3 floppy disks, 2 have data on it from a project I worked on about 3 months ago when I couldn't connect to my work's VPN. Bunch of pens and pencils - 15 or so. A wool and flannel hat, that my old roommate would call a "tobaggon". Gloves. A Rubik's cube. And up until I bothered to look for something in my bag, there were 3 bills in stamped envelopes that I forgot to take out and mail last week, which scared the crap out of me because I'm kind of actually really anal about money things.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com