2004-02-04

I HAVE AN EYE APPOINTMENT ON SATURDAY AT 10AM! DO NOT LET ME FORGET! I REALLY NEED A NEW PRESCRIPTION FOR EYEGLASSES (I don't say this in the "I really need some [prescription drug]" self diagnosis way - things are actually kind of blurry and I actually recognize the problem as not having new lenses in quite a while and the solution being having my eyes examined and then getting an updated prescription).

I got a graduation gift today from an aunt & uncle combo, some 14 months after I graduated. The enclosed letter mentioned that the card was purchased in July of 2003. This doesn't bother me in the slightest. I think I prefer it this way, actually.

Did not watch the Super Bowl (tangential: how can people not only put up with advertising/commercials but welcome it and even celebrate it in public by ranking it in order of favorite to least favorite? Honestly. It's commercials. Ignore them) but I did finally watch the Nova on string theory, which was nicely done, which reminded me of the Black-Scholes episode. Which kind of reminded me of Red Hat (pdf) - priced at: $20.41 (when this was released). 12 month target: $20.50. So it's a... buy?

�Nelson Mandela: incarcerated for a quarter of a century. Released in about 1990. So he's been out for about 14 years. And as far as I can make out, he hasn't re-offended. I think he's going straight -- which shows you prison really works.�

(Today I cheated on my regular Japanese place for a place that amounts to being 17 cents cheaper and I immediately got my comeuppance because this food was icky - their sauce was sweet and disgusting and I don't think I saw a bottle of soy sauce in the entire place)

Something mildly entertaining might be coming soon. Serious.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com