2004-03-22

I'm sitting here in my hotel room (free cookies), leeching off of some nice person's wifi connection.

1. Normally, I would just say 'no' to "corporate dining", but the very reasons I would say no to it are the same reasons why I think it's comforting on a business trip. It completely dissolves a sense of place. The same restaurant, the same menu, the same recipes - it's available everywhere. Everything is pre-approved and there are no surprises.

2. Because of the hotel TV's remote's general shape and layout, I found myself trying to 30-second skip through commercials on live TV here. Tivo makes real life really sucky.

3. I like being brought in as this programming wunderkind, but there's some mild hostility from some of the client folk. I think it's a general distrust of consultants, though. I think because we tend to make people nervous and create work for others and have a really crappy attitude about when people get us things. Everyone at the client site leaves at 5pm. It seems really strange to me to see that.

4. Air fare. Not "air fair." Air fair is like carnival rides and rigged midway games or a sense of justice. Completely different.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com