2004-05-12

With the talk of reinstituting the draft, I wonder what the Selective Service people are thinking. Because if you haven't really done much except collect cards for the past 30 years, aren't you a little worried that the boss is going to come over and see that you've been screwing around for a really, really long time? Like your boss walks in on you taking a nap or writing fiery hate mail to We Network for not showing Felicity anymore.

The history of the word quark is interesting. Also, I had no idea about the alternate definition - the cheese one (which is why I was looking it up in the first place - oatmeal and quark sounded strange to me).

I want movies and TV shows to start being rated a different way. Not a 1-10 scale or 5 stars or A to F or whatever. I think I want it to be spatial. Because a 7 or a "B" can mean different things: very entertaining, but no real depth or thought provoking but butt numbing or it's a shaky semi-erotic digital video capture of me sitting in a lawn chair on a hot August afternoon spreading peanut butter and jelly on my chest while I talk about the narrative trajectory of Matt Nokes' baseball career.* But those things aren't really equivalent. It should be dimensional. So you can look at it (without having to read) and it says "This movie appealed to my intellect, but it was difficult to sit still for 3 hours."

* If interested, please ask for the Paypal address where you can send your payment and specify Quicktime or WMV.

Seeing this movie (trailah!) on Saturday. Looking very forward. Very very forward to it.

THE SPAM2K PROJECT

I stopped being vigilant about getting rid of filtered spam at my spamgathering address so I could see how long it would take until I got 2000 pieces (hence the title, SPAM2K). My 2000th piece was filtered at Wed, 12 May 2004 18:31:12. The first piece was filtered at Thurs, 06 May 2004 01:18:22. It took 161.2 hours/6.72 days. 297.74 spams per day. Or 12.41 spams per hour. Or 1 spam every 4 minutes 50 seconds.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com