2004-05-17

Stocks spam told me to buy:
TTTP.OB
CGHI.OB
CSRZ.PK
Shocking. None of them meet the Nasdaq listing requirements.

A little blonde girl - maybe 5 or 6 years old - walked into the coffee shop with her mom. The way she was dressed - a black Ramones shirt and a skirt - seemed like the greatest thing ever. When I saw it, I kind of laughed. Dissonance - the boozey infighting band advertised on a little girl. But there was something about it that bothered me. Her mom. She seemed really high strung and annoying. It's like she was trying to make her daughter hip and interesting to get people to notice her - the hip and interesting mother.

There's another thing about coffee shops. I'm afraid that people might not actually be interested in what they're doing, but rather what people think of what they pretend to be interested in doing. Because I've begun to get the feeling that this is the thing you're supposed to be doing - projecting something. When I'm reading something in a public space, it's almost always because I find my TV at home far too distracting for me to actually accomplish anything. But you may interpret it as A) keenly interested in arbitrage and derivatives pricing (mostly right), B) I'm a budding financier (kind of wrong), C) I'm a jackass trying to impress people by reading something with large words and/or concepts (the jackass part is right), D) trying to hide my illiteracy, E) making myself atone for something bad I did by reading dense book that lacks any intrinsic entertainment.

And someone asked me if I was an art student. Jesus H. Christ. Do I come off as that stupid and impractical?

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com