2004-06-03

Thursday, May 27, 2004
The fact that �Dr.� Phil has the number 1 cookbook on Amazon.com makes me want to end it all.
posted by Alton Brown, 7:38 PM

TiVo recorded an episode of NOVA that should've been entitled "YOU AND EVERYONE YOU LOVE WILL DIE IN A HORRIFIC WAY FROM THE IMPENDING GEOMAGNETIC HOLOCAUST!" I honestly wish I didn't see the show because I have a hard time sleeping after that. I had to watch 3 cartoons and a Seinfeld before I was relaxed enough.

I saw a guy wearing fine black oxfords, black and white houndstooth pants, a black polo shirt and a black fleece vest. I am NOT a fashionista, but this man looked stupid. It's the fleece vest. It's just not a good piece of clothing. Pieces of clothing that are good: ascots, smoking jackets, anything argyle.

I used to work at a few pools, lifeguarding. Because of all the free time that the job affords, you get to know your coworkers quite well (which can yield sexy results). I stay in very loose contact with these people, but I'm almost universally underwhelmed by what they've done when I do hear from them. It's not that I'm a status-seeking asshole either (I am, though, right?). It's that they do stuff like, "I was going to be an EMT, but I got a DUI, so... I don't know" or "I moved to Tacoma and now I smoke." I'm not asking for big, bold things ("I planted the seed of fascism in a small country. Wait 3 or 4 years and you'll find out which one." or "I got a joint PhD in nutrition and religion. My thesis developed a theory of a kosher cheeseburger."), but things that show you've taken positive strides towards something, anything - evil genius, fascist dictator, corporate goon, oft-convicted sex offender, degenerate alcoholic, cracker factory foreman, semi-literate voter or non-voter.

I'm headed to Our Nation's Capital for a week - some Orioles baseball, excessive drinking and the democratic process. Also air conditioning. I love air conditioning. I'd like to formally take a stance on the issue of air conditioning: I am for it.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com