2004-06-25

It's cruise season. I never thought of Seattle as a destination, but I see more and more weird ancient couples pointing at "their boat." Last week on the bus there was 3 couples, each person wearing clothing that advertised a tropical location in muted earthtone colors. Tourists have this beautiful mixture of baby-fresh everything's-new and fightened-raccoon cynicism. Pike Place Market is the best place to see this. I think it's very typical for people to transition between defensive and weak and vulnerable while they shop. There's a Turkish restaurant there that I like a lot. My point was that I've come to enjoy the way tourists make me feel about myself.

Homemade pistachio ice cream = heaven served cold in a bowl. Also, the new favorite pizza ever of the week: half of a no sugar/baguette recipe (10 oz high gluten flour, 6 oz water, 3/4 tsp salt, 3/4 tsp yeast) that's been in your fridge a few days because you forgot to cook baguettes the other day. Bake on a stone as high as your oven goes for about 5 minutes. Pull out, top with 2 fresh, chopped roma tomatoes (salted), bacon and mozzarella and bake another 5 minutes or so.

SPAM 4K: How well does spam know me?
I let 4,000 pieces of spam collect in my inbox. This took about 3 weeks. What I'm interested in is:

How many know my real first name?

162

How many know my real last name?

301

How many use "FF0000" (hex for red)?

337

How many use the word "the"?

3,295 (as in, over 700 do not use the word "the")

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com