2004-07-08

Airplane meal request: Bland, Diabetic, Hindu, Kosher, Low Calorie, Low Cholesterol, Low Sodium, Muslim, Vegetarian. I'd never heard of bland before. The only explanation I can find for it is that it doesn't have any seasonings. I don't know what's wrong with seasonings.

A fairly vital component to the usefulness of my laptop - the female power connector - came loose from the muthaboard and I need to have it repaired. I can fix software fine and I'm perfectly comfortable screwing with hardware on a desktop - laptop maybe not so much because the parts are more specialized and squeezed in so tight - but I'm not going to solder stuff inside my laptop. I was awful at soldering in 9th grade metal shop (the only thing I excelled at in that class was taking apart the 2 stroke engine and putting it back together - I could remember where everything went quite well). So someone else needs to repair this. But I'm very uncomfortable with the idea that someone will have my computer without me policing them. It's a combination of the control thing and the idea that someone will expose me for the fraud that I am. This is bearing down on my conscious lately.

I think in the last entry I basically made it clear that I'm probably not going to buy anything off of some stupid wedding registry. I find the idea that someone puts together a list and says "Buy this" to everyone they know absolutely sickening. Let's be honest: I'm not getting married - I'm not "marriage material" in that I lack a lot of 'qualities' that women seem to 'look for' in a 'mate' - but if I decided I was going to buy a new BMW, a purchase that's approximately equal to the cost of some of these weddings I've been to (except it would have some residual value), and I invited everyone over to watch me adjust the seats and drive it around for a while and sent them a list of presents I wanted, A) no one would come, B) anyone who did show up wouldn't bring a present. So here's my question: how do I squeeze larger ticket presents out of people I know?

"Shadow Queen" by Brown Feather Sparrow is one of the better songs I have heard in a while.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com